The hand, writing on the wall

Hello there strangers… Been a while…

Between the extended recovery time that followed an awesome holiday (more on that to come), and a laptop that is down (and pretty much out- hoping to find a replacement this weekend) for the count, logging blogging time has been a little tricky of late.

So… again with the reblog.

While away, I had the opportunity to take in the British Museum and to hang out with a whole bunch of ancient things and peeps I’d been reading about for decades. They have an outstanding collection from Mesopotamia and Assyria, and visiting my ancient friends called this post to mind.

We are less than two weeks from a very important municipal election here in TO- one that I referenced way back when I originally wrote the post. The circumstances have changed a little- our current ‘mayor’ is unable to run again, so his brother has stepped in to drive the Ford Nation bus in its headlong rush to oblivion. If the rhetoric- from all three ‘viable’ candidates- since my return is any indication, I’m not sure that this election will institute the sea-change that is required to get this town onto the necessary footing to remedy the missteps that have been the norm for the past number of years, and to move forward with making the city livable and workable in the future. Sigh.

So… Let this be a reiteration of my Mene Mene. Positive forward momentum, while looking backwards and acknowledging our mistakes. THESE are the things that need addressing. Let’s DO this thing, TO.

colemining

The Hebrew Scriptures have some pretty cool stories that contain some really cool characters and memorable lines.  I’ve been studying the texts of the OT and NT and the Apocrypha, and Pseudipigrapha, and the literatures of neighbouring countries (Egypt, the Ancient Near East, Greece, Rome, and etc.) for so very long now, it’s tricky trying to single out what (and who) makes my absolute top of the pops of ancient literature.

I have resolved my love-hate relationship with the particular text(s) that served as the focus of my doctoral thesis- and I’m back to hanging out and having fun with my gnostics, in all their ‘heretical’ glory.  I’ve neglected the Egyptians and Mesopotamians a bit lately- after teaching about them for a few years running and visiting with them at the ROM on a weekly basis we all needed some time apart.

The NT and I remain estranged- there are still some residual hard feelings left over from my Master’s thesis…

View original post 1,405 more words

7 comments on “The hand, writing on the wall

  1. Missed you! Glad to hear you were in the UK having fun. Welcome home! 🙂

  2. Ste J says:

    The British Museum is ridiculously awesome although I find time passes too quickly once inside, it is one of those stupid paradoxes that makes work go slow for some inexplicable reason.

    I take it viable candidates means the people with the most money or backed by the most money? I could just be really cynical and misinformed but that usually is how the media grades its candidates handily ensuring nobody who wants to make real change gets in.

    • colemining says:

      I know, Ste. J. I could have spent a couple of days in the museum for sure!

      In our case, it’s all about the candidates who have a real vision for the city that can be implemented with the best use of the resources we have to hand. Which, in this case, happens to be someone who has money and political experience, to be sure. But if we’re to get out of the quagmire that has been created over the past 4 years, we need someone who is about more than focusing negative attention on the city- and creating discord and division at City Hall. Fingers crossed people vote- based on rationale and reason.

      Thanks for the visit!

  3. From down here the Ford Nation bus appears bent on a headlong rush over a cliff. At a very high rate of speed.

    Welcome back – I enjoyed rereading your post on Daniel. Anything with Nebuchadnezzar *and* a disembodied hand is always entertaining.

    • colemining says:

      Oh, CBC. If you believe some of the current polls, our former mayor’s brother is neck-and-neck with the leading contender for the job. Unfortunately, there are still a whole lot of people who are believing the Ford Party-line and who think that FN is the way to go. One more week, and then we’ll know…

      I did a patchwork job on the laptop- fingers crossed it stays patched up long enough for me to actually write some new posts! I know I’ll have to bite the bullet and get a new laptop eventually- just putting it off as long as I can.

      Thanks for the re-read. Hope to have something new for you soon.

Leave a Reply

