Separation

As frightening as it is to think that such a thing is necessary, today is, evidently, ‘Openly Secular Day’.

So, in the spirit of ‘reducing anti-atheist prejudice’ (again, I shudder at the thought that such a thing exists), here’s an older post examining some of the myriad reasons behind my continuing push for the complete secularization of all rational societies.

I’ve been kept busy lately, doing my part to forestall the implementation of the insanity that is Bill C51, so my apologies for yet another recycled post (although the recycling IS in keeping with the spirit of Earth Day just past). Hope to be back with something new in the near future.

colemining

This evening, over the course of fairly standard dinner conversation, I was asked why atheists needed to be considered under the same aegis as any other religious group- and why the Human Rights Tribunal of Ontario was getting involved.

I had no idea what she was talking about, but my first thought was essentially along the lines of ‘holy cows, these New Atheists are becoming as dogmatic and doctrinaire as those ‘believers’ from whom they wish to distance themselves.’

My inquisitor sent me this link to a recent ‘Day 6’ discussion on CBC radio.  According to the National Post the case was brought by a a father- from small town Ontario- who, as a ‘secular humanist’ objected to the distribution of Gideons’ Bibles in the public school his children attended.

He countered this by suggesting that Just Pretend: A Freethought Book for Children be made equally available.  The Niagara…

View original post 932 more words

6 comments on “Separation

  1. quiall says:

    I champion the right to believe. If it is legal, moral and yours, no one has the right to disparage it.

    • colemining says:

      Provided those beliefs don’t conflict with the larger, societal laws that are meant to protect the population as a whole, I agree with you, completely. Once we politically institutionalize beliefs- on a municipal,provincial or federal level- we enter into dangerous territory.

      Thanks for the visit- and for your input to the discussion! xo

  2. bethbyrnes says:

    I continue to marvel at the emotional freight that the discussion of our personal beliefs carries. I don’t know if you saw Bill Maher last week, when he inadvertently evoked a volatile response from Fareed Zakaria by stating that religions are motherlodes. I won’t spell it out because I don’t want to tread into this area too much, but given that I think and reason for myself, I do not become a basket case when someone says they don’t agree with me, on anything, much less something that should be so private and personal and off limits in the public domain. Sigh!

    • colemining says:

      Beth- I missed that one. I truly cannot understand the need to shout our personal beliefs (or anything else, for that matter) from the rooftops in order to engage in discourse about things of real import. But, since I seem to be part of an ‘oppressed minority’ (seriously?) I thought I’d hope on board and ‘tell one person’ (as if any people in my immediate vicinity require informing).

      All cynicism aside, I do acknowledge that there are too many places- particularly south of the border- in which expressions of religious non-belief can result in significant problems for said non-believer. THAT does require changing, so I do see some value in the declaration of the day. Since our politicians and community leaders continue to INSIST on making things that belong in the ‘private and personal’ domains matters for public discussion, we need to shed light on the dangers of so doing. Something like ‘Openly Secular Day’ is as good a way as any, I suppose.

      Especially since we seem to have a day for everything… (it’s also Doctor Who Day, I’ve been told).

      Thanks for the visit and comment, as always. I feel like I’m stuck on repeat, right now, but I haven’t figured out a way to say what needs to be said any differently. Perhaps when I’m done writing letters about the proposed violation of the Charter of Rights and Freedoms I’ll feel more inspired to creativity… xo

      • bethbyrnes says:

        Well, you NEED to keep writing and talking about it because it keeps being a problem! I am with you 100% I feel like Jeannie one-note myself so I alternate with one serious, one frivolous post to keep from sounding cranky. 😉

      • colemining says:

        Lol. ‘Jeannie one-note’. I like that. I have two posts- in various stages of completion- that were supposed to be interludes in my ranting about our government and such idiocy that is permitted to flourish in this world of ours, and I just can’t seem to get them finished. Too caught up in fighting the power, I guess. A fight that needs to be ramped up, evidently, given the Budget this federal government just presented us with, yesterday.

        I think I’m just resigned to sounding cranky these days. ‘Cranky is as cranky does’- or something similar… 😉

Leave a Reply

